Hill of Crosses—(Lithuania/Šiauliai)

Close view of the Hill of Crosses
Hill of crosses1200px-Kryžių_kalnas_(Góra_Krzyży)
By Pudelek (Marcin Szala) – Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=17124232

 

The Hill of Crosses (Lithuanian:Kryžių kalnas ) is a site of pilgrimage about 12 km north of the city of Šiauliai, in northern Lithuania. The precise origin of the practice of leaving crosses on the hill is uncertain, but it is believed that the first crosses were placed on the former Jurgaičiai or Domantai hill fort after the 1831 Uprising.[1] Over the generations, not only crosses and crucifixes, but statues of the Virgin Mary, carvings of Lithuanian patriots and thousands of tiny effigies and rosaries have been brought here by Catholic pilgrims. The exact number of crosses is unknown, but estimates put it at about 55,000 in 1990 and 100,000 in 2006.
The text above is an excerpt from a Wikipedia article which is based on work by 90.214.70.166,JoeHebda,Fishlandia and other users.The text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 license

Lascaris War Rooms—Valletta (Malta)

Lascaris War Rooms Entrance
506px-Lascaris_War_Room_Entrance
By Pi3.124Own work, CC BY-SA 4.0, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=39500606

 

Lascaris War Rooms19606395364_f34b525fa4_kIMG_8093” (CC BY-ND 2.0) by  Lisa Cherry Aimi 

 

LascarisWarRooms20202392256_140542cb8e_k5” (CC BY-ND 2.0) by  Lisa Cherry Aimi 

The Lascaris War Rooms are an underground complex of tunnels and chambers in Valletta, Malta that housed the War Headquarters from where the defence of the island was conducted during the Second World War. The rooms were later used by NATO and they are now open to the public as a museum.

Work on the secret underground complex started in 1940, during the siege of Malta, when a series of tunnels under the Upper Barrakka Gardens and the Saluting Battery that had been used as slave quarters during the Hospitaller period began to be expanded. The complex was completed in early 1943. The site takes its name from the nearby Fort Lascaris, which was itself named after Giovanni Paolo Lascaris, a Grandmaster who had built a garden on the site later occupied by the fort.

The Lascaris War Rooms contained operations rooms for each of the fighting services, from where both the defence of Malta and other operations in the Mediterranean were coordinated. The Operation Headquarters at Lascaris communicated directly with radar stations around the Maltese islands, and it was equipped with Type X machines. The fleets were led from the Navy Plotting Room, while the Anti-Aircraft Guns Operations Room was responsible for the air defence of the island. In the Coast Defence Room, defensive operations in the case of an amphibious invasion were planned. The Filter Room displayed information received from various places, including the naval station at Auberge de Castille.

Lascaris was the advance Allied HQ from where General Eisenhower and his Supreme Commanders Admiral Cunningham, Field Marshal Montgomery and Air Marshal Tedder directed the Allied invasion of Sicily (Operation Husky) in 1943.

Throughout the war, around 1000 people worked in the rooms, including 240 soldiers.

After the war, Lascaris became the Headquarters of the Royal Navy’s Mediterranean Fleet. They played an active part during the Suez Crisis of 1956, and were put into full alert during the Cuban Missile Crisis of 1962, when a Soviet missile strike against Malta was feared.

In 1967, the complex was taken over by NATO to be used as a strategic Communication Centre for the interception of Soviet submarines in the Mediterranean. The war rooms continued to serve this function until they were closed down in 1977.
The text above is an excerpt from a Wikipedia article which is based on work by Xwejnusgozo , HotCat,John of Reading and other users.
The text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 license