A beautiful beach with rock pools and sea caves.
By Man vyi – Own work, Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=977456
Hohlgangsanlage 8 (often abbreviated to Ho8, also known as the German Underground Hospital or the Jersey War Tunnels) was a partially completed underground hospital complex in St. Lawrence, Jersey, built by German occupying forces during the occupation of Jersey during World War II. Over 1 km (1,100 yd) of tunnels were completed. After the liberation of the Channel Islands, the complex was converted into a museum detailing the occupation and remains a visitor attraction.In July 1946, the States of Jersey opened the tunnels to the public. In 1961, the Royal Court ruled that the subterranean complex belonged to the private owners of the land above it, and Ho8 fell under private ownership. The complex was restored, with a collection of Occupation memorabilia and a museum and memorial to the occupation being set up. In 2001, a permanent exhibit called “Captive Island” was unveiled in the tunnel complex, detailing everyday life for civilians in Jersey before, during and after the occupation of Jersey. Today, Ho8 is generally referred to as the “Jersey War Tunnels”. The Jersey War Tunnels has also housed military vehicles such as a Char B1 bis tank, which served in Jersey with the Panzer-Abteilung 213 during the occupation which was on loan from the The Tank Museum. As of March 2012 there is also a replica Stug III tank destroyer owned by the war tunnels.
The text above is an excerpt from a Wikipedia article which is based on work by Hairy Dude,Cydebot,Danrok and other users.
The text is available under the Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 license
St Michael’s Mount is a small tidal island in Mount’s Bay, Cornwall, United Kingdom